Lost!

Friday night our family spent the evening watching our youngest play baseball – under the lights – for his first time.   I knew we would get back after dark and was kind of excited to see if all the chicks would go into the coop all by themselves to settle in for the night.   The past week or so I have had to catch all 6 and put them into the coop.  And when I say I, I mostly mean Jordan is doing it and I am working the door to keep them inside the coop.   Lately, I have noticed that they are finally “getting it” and understanding there is safety and warmth in the coop after dark.   We got home around 10pm and Jordan and I went back to check out the situation, crossing my fingers that all I would have to do was shut the pop up door to the coop and call it a night.   I did a quick glance in the run and saw nothing.   Hurray!!   They all went to the coop.   I opened the main door to the coop to check the inside temperature (Captain still does not have all her feathers) and did a quick head count.   1, 2, 3, 4, 5.   What?!   Sometimes when the black birds are close to each other they look like one so I better recount.  1, 2, 3, 4, 5.    I have 6 chicks!

By now, Jordan is looking worried and goes into the house for her dad.   I determined that Peaches was not accounted for so my search was for a fluffy, buff colored chick.   I scanned the run, looked under the ladder to the coop, got on my hands and knees to look in the run under the coop and still no chick.   Perplexed, I needed a new plan.   Could she have gotten out when I went into the coop today?   I really wasn’t in the coop except for the morning because we had a busy day of friends over for the kids.   Hmmm….   Did a predator breach our steadfast design?    Pete was now outside with a flash light and we checked around the coop for holes or breaks in the hardware cloth.   Nothing.   By this time, Riley is crying because Peaches is her chick and she is going on and on about how she needs another one.  After determining that nothing breached the run and there weren’t feather piles or blood in our yard (Thank goodness!), we opened the coop again for another look.   Pete flashed the flashlight around and hit the 6th set of eyes.   She was up in the eaves of the coop.

  IMG_3003             IMG_3009

I didn’t even think it was possible to roost up there.   I wasn’t sure if she was stuck up there or enjoyed it.  I love how Stretch is almost showing us where Peaches is.   I think she is trying to figure a way out to get up there too!   The mystery was solved, Pete moved her back down to the roosting bar and we all could go inside knowing we still had 6 chicks in the coop.  At least until the next time we “lose” a chick.

Leave a Reply

